Deep South Tour: Day 3

Ryan Brim, Day 3, January 9, 2011

This morning, I woke around 8:15 and got ready for what today was about to throw at me. After breakfast, when I was awake and ready to go, we took a gigantic tour of Savannah, Georgia.

Today I did 6 new things that I have never done before:

1)      I paid a street performer.  He played well on his recorder, so my mom gave me $1 to put in his tip vase.

2)      I took a trolley tour through historic downtown Savannah.  On one of the stops we went to a candy shop, and I had my picture taken with Marilyn Monroe.

Ryan with Marilyn Monroe (sort of)

 

3)      I tipped a driver.  We had 3 tour guides, and the last one was the best because he was funny.

4)      I ate at The Pirate House.  It used to be a hangout for pirates, and you can still see the secret tunnels under the building.  One of the rooms was built in 1734.

Ryan as a pirate, or maybe Salvador Dali

5)      I touched the Atlantic Ocean.  It was so cold my teeth were chattering, but I stopped to pick up shells.

Ryan at the beach on Tybee Island.

6)      I learned of the murder case in the book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. I saw the bird girl statue from the book cover in the Telfair Museum.

Today I think was the best part of our trip so far. I better head off for bed and get ready for a long day of driving tomorrow.

Dana Angello, Day 3: Sunday, January 09, 2011

8:00 PM: This morning, we decided to treat ourselves to a little more sleep than the past few nights, so we didn’t head out the door until about 9:30. This ended up being a great idea because it was still extremely cold when we left; we probably wouldn’t have lasted long if we had left just a couple hours before.

Frozen fountain in Savannah courtyard

Despite the weather, I was so excited to begin the tour of historic Savannah. We went on a trolley which stopped at thirteen different places and we were free to get on and off at each stop as we pleased. We saw many different monuments and historic buildings. In the center of one square, General Nathaniel Greene, George Washington’s right-hand man during the American Revolution, was buried. There was also a monument which honored the Haitians who fought on behalf of the colonists during the same war. These two monuments intrigued me because of my obsession with the time period. There were many historic homes in the area as well, including the birthplace of Juliette Gordon Low, who began the Girls Scouts of America and the home of short story writer Flannery O’Connor.

Once we had had our fill of the windy weather, we decided it was time to ride more and walk less, so we admired the sites from the trolley for a while and then ate lunch at the Pirate House. According to our waiter, the restaurant was the largest in Savannah, but it also had great historical significance. It was first the Trustees Garden when the founder, James Oglethorpe, was governor, and the herb house is now the oldest structure in the city! The food was tasty, too, making it an all-around great experience.

We boarded the trolley once again and finished the tour with an entertaining and dare-devil tour guide who managed to make it through some tight spots without hurting anyone. Then, we got in the car and I visited the “The Book” Gift Shop, which is dedicated to the book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, a historical novel set in Savannah. Mike and Stephanie have read it and I am currently reading it. I was able to pick up signed copies of the book for Mike and myself, adding to both of our collections (although his is much bigger).

Mercer-Williams House, setting of much of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Afterward, we visited the Telfair and Jepson Museums, which housed great paintings and sculptures. The Telfair Museum had been a house at one point and displayed a mixture of older art. I loved the intimate feel of the small galleries. I cannot remember the name of my favorite painting, but it depicted a young woman sitting atop a cliff with her dog, looking down as several sailboats came into the dock. It had such a calming feel to it. If I close my eyes, I can picture myself sitting on the cliff with my cat, watching the world from afar as my own world stands still just as the young woman in the painting was doing.

The Jepson Museum housed more modern art, which I am not usually too crazy about. However, there was one painting called “The Dying Men and the Vulture from the Forerunner” by Kahliil Gibran. The painting was of a dying man beside a tree. A vulture was flying over him, but the painting also showed his spirit lifting from his body as an angelic figure scooped him up to the heavens. It was a great portrayal of what may happen once someone dies. The physical body is still on earth being devoured by nature, but the spirit moves on to another, less harsh world.

We were only able to spend a short amount of time at these museums before they closed, and we were left with enough daylight to drive across the bridge to South Carolina, unexpectedly adding a seventh state on our itinerary. This was a great day we were able to see so many great historic places in Savannah. What an amazing city!

Tomorrow, we start heading back east, but first we are driving to Florida to make a few stops in Jacksonville and Tallahassee. I can’t wait to start the second half of our trip!

Amanda Ketchum, Day 3—January 9, 2011

9:30 pm: Day three was great; a wonderful day in Savannah, Georgia.  We went on to the historic down town, the Telfair Museum and the Jepson Center, Tybee Island, and had dinner.

We started our endeavors in the historic down town area by taking a trolley tour. The trolley tour was a great and simple way to learn about some of the history of Savannah.  The tour guides on the trolley were wonderful.  They made it educational yet amusing.  Who would have ever thought a town like Savannah would have so much going on?  The Girl Scouts of America was started in Savannah; it was where the founder, Juliette Gordon Low, was born.  It is also where the first headquarters of the Girl Scouts is located.  There were also quite a few movies filmed in Savannah such as, my personal favorite, Forrest Gump.  My favorite was getting to see the steeple where the feathers fly by in the movie.  Savannah is also the home of famous chef, Paula Deen.  On top of seeing these sites, I had the chance to explore the City Market in the historic down town area.  While there were quite a few things closed with it being Sunday, but I found quite a few places open where I could find unique stuff and little trinkets.

We had lunch at the Pirate’s House.  It is a historical site turned into a restaurant.  This place is said to be haunted.  Actually, it is said that Savannah, Georgia is the most haunted city in the United States.  I did not see any ghosts, although it was daytime.  And, the area overall was absolutely beautiful in my opinion.  The squares with the big full trees and the old homes that have been restored create a beautiful setting.  There was even someone out on one of the squares playing some kind of musical instrument.  The atmosphere of the area was simply wonderful.

Fountain at Forsyth Square

Also in the historic down town area was the Telfair Museum and Jepson Center.  These are both art museums.  The Telfair Museum was neat.  It was a whole lot less crowded than when we went to the High Museum of Art in Atlanta.  I did enjoy that aspect of it.  They had a few impressionists, which is my personal favorite.  The Jepson Center was pretty cool though.  They had an educational center for children.  It was a lot of fun.  It had lots of hands-on interaction. It was very involved, yet really did teach you about art and the history of different types of art.   All of these art museums lately have started to affect me.  I actually do not mind looking at art that much anymore; it is still not my must favorite thing in the world, but I like it a lot better than I did before the trip.  However, Monet’s Water Lily Pond and Van Gogh’s Starry Night are still my favorites.

After leaving the historic down town area, we took a small excursion to South Carolina, just enough to be able to say we went.  After that, our last destination before dinner was Tybee Island where we went to the beach.  It was extremely cold and windy outside.  I do want to come back here one day though.  The beach was clean and free from debris, unlike the beaches to which I am accustomed.  Also, the water was pretty and not a nasty, murky brown, another thing that is unlike beaches I have visited.  So, now I can say that I have seen the Atlantic Ocean.  Also, the sunset on the beach was absolutely incredible.

Junior Fellows & friends on the beach at Tybee Island

For dinner, I had Mediterranean food for the first time.  It was different; I have definitely never had anything like it before.  It was good though.  I really liked trying it.  I think the dessert was probably the most non-surprising flavor of the night.  I think it was called Baklava.

Savannah is definitely a town full of history and beauty.  I loved it!  I would love to come back here one day, but I am also looking forward to Florida tomorrow.

Mike with his favorite lyricist, Johnny Mercer

One thought on “Deep South Tour: Day 3

Leave a Reply

