Deep South Tour: Day 4

Dana Angello, Day 4: Monday, January 10, 2011
6:00 PM

Today proved to be a fairly relaxing day on the road through Florida toward Alabama. I’m not complaining, though, because it has given me plenty of time to continue my reading of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. The book was written by John Berendt, a journalist who visited Savannah to write a book about the city. As it turned out, one of the characters in the book, a well-known socialite who the author had gotten to know, murdered a friend and went through several appeals before the case was finally settled. Every character in the book is fascinating and every time I sit down to read it I end up thinking, “How is it possible that crazy people like this really exist?” Anyway, I have loved the free time to read such a great book.

We made a stop in Tallahassee where we did some sightseeing for a few hours. We visited the Challenger Learning Center, a small museum about the space shuttle that crashed in the 1990s. It was a fairly small museum that has mainly been taken over by an IMAX theater. I had to resist the temptation to buy a ticket to see the new Harry Potter movie.

Afterward, we visited and took pictures of the old and new state capitols, the state Supreme Court building, and the Vietnam Conflict Memorial. I wish we could have stayed a little longer to visit the history and Arts & Science Museums, but I enjoyed the short amount of time we had there.

Old Capitol, Florida

Now, we are on the road to Mobile, Alabama and tomorrow we will head to New Orleans. I can’t wait!

Amanda Ketchum, Day 4—01/10/2011 9:30 pm

Today was a laid-back kind of day.  And also, the hour I lost the other day, I got it back.

We left Savannah this morning a little after nine.  It was cold and a raining this morning.  Luckily though, it stopped raining for us to load up the van.  It rained throughout the day.

While looking for a place for lunch, we had to stop at a draw bridge.  This was actually the first time I have ever seen a working draw bridge.  I thought it was pretty cool.  The Persian restaurant we went to for lunch was called the Green Erth Café.  The food was pretty good.  I tried a cucumber with hummus on it.  I did not think it would be very good, but it actually was.  I also had a slice of what our waitress called “pizza.”  While it was not what I would typically consider pizza, it was still delicious.  It was a type of flat bread with goat cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, and lettuce with, what I think was, Balsamic Vinaigrette drizzled over it.  I did not think I would like it, but it was actually my favorite thing I had there.  For my entrée, I had a sandwich, a garlic chicken and feta cheese on French bread.  The flavor given to the chicken from being marinated reminded me of some of the food I had last night at the Mediterranean restaurant last night.  The sandwich was pretty good.  Our waitress was very amusing as well.  She was giving us a hard time about the fact that we did not finish our food.

Our next stop was in Tallahassee, the capital of Florida.  The first place we went to was the Challenger Learning Center.  The place was really small, but what it did have in it was very interesting and educational.  My favorite part was the model of the International Space Station.  It was very detailed.  They also had a model of the Apollo Landing Module to a one-third scale.  In my opinion though, the best part was the old newspaper articles they had from when the Challenger blew-up.  The next thing we did was go to the Capitol building.  The old capitol building was separated into three buildings, one for the senate, one for the house, and a joint building in the middle.  The new capitol was built behind the old capitol.  It was the tallest capitol building I have seen so far, of course I have only been to four.

New Capitol, Florida

 

We stopped in Pensacola for dinner and went to the Crab Trap.  I had a shrimp platter that included fried, boiled, and grilled shrimp, hushpuppies, steamed new potatoes, and garlic mashed potatoes.  The shrimp was extremely good, especially the fried shrimp.  The batter they used, in my opinion, was fabulous.  My favorite though was the garlic mashed potatoes.  The hushpuppies were also good and had a sweet taste to them.

Currently, we are on our way to Mobile Alabama for the night.  As before, today was a great day and I cannot wait until we get to our next destination.

All:  We liked the old capitol far more than the new capitol.

Ryan, at Veterans Statue

 

One thought on “Deep South Tour: Day 4

Leave a Reply

