Deep South Tour: Day 6

Amanda Ketchum, January 11, 2011
9:00 am: We went to Café du Monde (translation: Coffee of the World) for breakfast. This café is one of the places that are open 24 hours in the French Quarter. The Beignets we had were pretty good. It was not my first time to have Beignets, but they were the best so far. It was a nice light breakfast to start off the day. The hot chocolate was really good too.
11:00 am: After breakfast, we went to Jackson Square and the Louisiana State Historical Museum.

Junior Fellows at Jackson Square

It was very interesting. I found the section they had on musicians from Louisiana the most fascinating. I always knew that there were a lot of musicians from Louisiana, but the display really put the amount of talent into perspective. The other exhibits in the museum were interesting as well, but the one about the musicians was my favorite.
1:00 pm: I walked around the French Quarter and browsed around the shops for a few hours. The architecture of the French Quarter is wonderful. They way they have preserved all of these buildings and made them into businesses are really neat and makes for a unique shopping experience. I found shops of all kinds; Mardi Gras stores, clothing stores, toy stores, and tons of restaurants. There were people along the sidewalks offering things such as fortune telling. They also had musicians up and down the streets playing for tips. You cannot walk down the streets without hearing New Orleans style music. However, the best part of today would have to be shopping (my favorite pasttime). The shopping in the French Quarter has to be the best shopping experience I have had yet. The City Market in Savannah was fun too, but not near as big. Today, I browsed through the area for almost four hours, and I still did not see everything there was. The French Quarter is definitely somewhere I plan on coming back to in the future. Although, I think I will come when it is a little warmer out. While most of the stores had the heat on and the doors closed, having to walk outside in the cold took away from the good time I was having. Of course, it is all part of the experience.
7:30 pm: Dana and I went to the Magnolia Grill for dinner. It was completely empty, but that didn’t mean the food was bad. I had fried crawfish tails and a bacon cheeseburger with fries. The batter that was used on the crawfish tails was amazing. It reminded me a lot of some of the batters my dad uses, except not as spicy. The cheeseburger was huge! I couldn’t even eat half of the thing.

I really enjoyed New Orleans. The area really has a very rich culture. The food, the music, Mardi Gras, and so much other stuff makes this a unique place. New Orleans is one place that I have been that no other can relate to. This has to have been my favorite stop this past week.

So, tonight is our last night. While I have had tons of fun on this trip, I cannot begin to describe how happy I am to be able to go home and relax. Hopefully our last day tomorrow will be just as much fun as all the others.

Ryan Brim, Wednesday, January 11, 2011

Breakfast: We ate at Cafe Du Monde. I had two delicious beignets, French donuts that I had for the first time. I also happened to notice that there were a lot of birds hopping around that looked like they had eaten there a lot.

Morning Activities: We went to Jackson Square, named after Andrew Jackson. I also went to the Louisiana State History Museum – Cabildo, which had the death mask of Napoleon Bonaparte, the French Emperor.

Napoleon's Death Mask

After we visited the museum, I met a clown named Patches, who made me a balloon sword and a holder for it.

Ryan on "Pirate's Alley," Jackson Square

Lunch: I consumed a wonderful meal at Magnolia Grill consisting of gumbo, alligator sausage, and a big muffaletta – a huge sandwich.

Afternoon Activities: We visited the New Orleans Museum of art, which was free.

New Orleans Museum of Art

The artists were great, including: Pablo Picasso, Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet, Auguste Rodin, Edward Degas, and many more.

Picasso, Still Life with Candles

One of my favorites was called Self Portrait with Two People by Michelangelo Pistoletto. It had a mirror in the background, which showed me taking the picture, so when you look it, it’s really more like self portrait with three people.

Self Portrait with Two (or three) People

We also stopped by Edward Degas’ house and took pictures.

Edgar Degas's Home

Dinner: Mom, Mike, and I ate at a restaurant called The Corner, a Cajun restuarant that had some pretty good food. We had Oysters, Crawfish Etoufee, and Gumbalaya, the restaurant’s mixture of Gumbo and Jambalaya, which Mike calls “Jumbo”.

Plans for Tomorrow: Tomorrow will not be nearly as awesome or fun as the last few days, so I better enjoy it while it lasts and get ready for the LONG day ahead of me tomorrow.

Ryan, Appreciating Art

One thought on “Deep South Tour: Day 6

  1. When we were in New Orleans, we ate breakfast at the Cafe du Monde, too. Fantastic! We missed the art museums. Next time I will make it a point to visit them.

Leave a Reply

