Alum Blog

Emily Johnson (Mon, Dec 13, 2010)

Emily and other Junior Fellows with Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe

I’m Emily Johnson, founding member, former President, and proud alumnus of the Political Science Junior Fellows.  I served the organization from 2005 until my graduation from SHSU in 2007 and am so grateful for all the educational and professional experiences I had while with the Fellows.  In 2007 I moved to Bryan to attend graduate school at the Bush School of Government and Public Service.  While working towards my master’s degree, I interned with the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, served as a graduate research assistant, and co-authored a paper recently accepted for publication to the Journal of Career Development.  I kept in touch with the Fellows throughout grad school and was able to not only attend some events they hosted in Huntsville, but also joined them when they attended events in College Station.

I will never forget one of my first trips to Austin with the Fellows to attend a leadership conference because it was during that trip I knew I wanted to live and work in Austin.  In 2009, I reached that goal when, upon completing grad school, I was hired as a Policy Analyst with the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission.  I’ve been with Sunset just over one year and have worked on reviews of the Commission on State Emergency Communications, Texas Water Development Board, and Texas Department of Transportation.  I have enjoyed watching the organization flourish and thankfully, still get to visit with the Fellows on occasions they travel to Austin.

Three Presidents: Ademide Adedokun, Emily Johnson, & Rowdy Salazar

Editor’s Note: Emily Johnson was President of the organization from August 2005 through May 2007, the longest-serving President in the organization’s history.

Leave a Reply

